Weekly Photo Challenge: Standing next to a Masterpiece

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/out-of-this-world/

This weekly challenge will be very easy for me, because I can just use my profile picture to show one my favorite masterpieces – The Belvedere Torso. (note to myself – do not change your profile picture for a while). Currently “sitting” in the Vatican Museum it was also the favorite piece of grand master Michelangelo. In fact you can find it with added limbs and head in twenty different appearances on the ceiling in Sistine chapel.

IMG_0752

We visited Rome with my Art History class last May and I must admit I just fell in love with the city. I have been to Italy few times before, but this was my first visit to Rome and I am definitely going back. I threw a coin to the Trevi Fountain so according to the legend I will be returning there ( I found out about this legend only afterwards, I was only mimicking the other tourists). The Trevi Fountain is another masterpiece  by Bernini, I recommend to visit at night time, there are less people and it is beautifully lit. 

           IMG_0783

In the picture with me, is my schoolmate from high school in Slovakia ( I live and study in Ireland now) and my close friend, who I haven’t seen in more than three years but happened to meet by accident in Rome. Talk about small world.

But Rome was literary littered with masterpieces. I will just show you some of them. Again in Vatican Museum is the Laocoon.

                    IMG_0746

I know a fun fact about this statue, when found in 17th century it was missing the right hand and there was a vote on whether the arm was outstretched or bent backwards. Michelangelo was the only one proposing that it should be bent, but after an informal contest judged by Raphael it was decided to restore it with the arm outstretched. But the arm was actually found less than hundred years ago and it was in fact bent backwards exactly how Michelangelo suggested. So I guess “Cowabunga” to that.

But my favorite picture of a masterpiece in Rome is from the Galleria Borghese. It is again by Bernini and I took this pictures before I was told it is strictly forbidden to take pictures.

        IMG_0837 IMG_0840 IMG_0841

I genuinely did not know, I was walking around taking close-ups with my phone of this magnificent Pluto and Proserpina made from one piece of marble before I was told the rules. On the right of the statue you can see our lecturer and guide, his passionate explanations always caused our group to become much larger anywhere we went.

Another Bernini’s statue is David, I admit this time I knew already about the photo ban. Naughty. Then I really put it away out of respect to art not rules.

       IMG_0846

And I could go on and on. There were hundreds of other masterpieces. Even on a toilet in a random cafe was a nice statue.

IMG_0831

It was amazing to stand in places that were built thousands of years ago, I know it sounds cheesy but you could feel the History. And all this mixed with excellent food, wine and wonderful people.

If you want to know more about The Belvedere Torso please check out my post here

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Standing next to a Masterpiece

Leave a Reply

