Far from Home – How far can you go?

Daily prompt http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/daily-prompt-distance/

This daily prompt got me thinking (I know, right?). How far can you go from home? And what is home? Do not worry, I won’t go that deep. For the purposes of this post I will consider my home the place I grew up. My hometown Bratislava.

Here is a website which let you see the furthest point from your home – the direct opposite of Earth – Furthest Point 

IMG_1097taken with my phone from the said  website

As you can see from the picture, mine is in the middle of the ocean some 2000 km from New Zealand. Not really on top of my list of places to visit, or rather not on the list at all. But I decided to add it on (the list is only in my head anyway) because it would be cool to stand, or float in this case, on the exact opposite spot from your house. From here anywhere you move, you will move closer to your home. Somehow poetic.

You can not go any further than that…on Earth. But what if we set our eyes on the entire Universe. It is my dream to travel to space, but i think I will wait until Ryanair starts to make low cost deals to space. Or you could apply for the one-way ticket to colonize Mars in ten years with the private company Mars One. https://apply.mars-one.com/

78000 people applied in the first two weeks so the competition will be tough, but you can try. I can imagine writing response to similar prompt in 10 years: ” I am here on Mars…” Personally I am bit sceptical about the whole mission, but the geek in me wants to believe in it.

water on Mars discovered                              water on mars

And who can say that they have been further away from home than anybody else? Tom Hanks, Bill Paxton and Kevin Bacon. Can you tell why?

In reality it was the crew of Apollo 13, these three actors played in the movie about this failed mission. They had to go around the moon to use its gravity so they set the record at 400 117 km. Their names are James Lowell, Fred Haise and John Swigert.

My furthest point was probably  Dominican republic. I spent an amazing month there last year. This is not related to the topic but my friend gave me an interesting idea. When we were there and listened to some downloaded music, we were actually Pirates of the Caribbean.  Here is a picture of me

          playa

Leave a Reply

